News Photo
Baseball - Mon, May 13, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Bracket | Live Video) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seeds and bracket for the 2013 Avista-NAIA World Series, hosted by Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) from May 24 – 31 at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho. Faulkner (Ala.) received the No. 1 seed in the 57th annual event with an Opening Round championship at the Montgomery Bracket.

The World Series is a double-elimination tournament with the winner being crowned either May 30 or 31, dependent upon if the eventual champion drops one of its earlier round games. For ticket information, click here.

Game one of the World Series pits No. 8 Sterling (Kan.) (48-12) against No. 9 Missouri Baptist (35-12) on May 24 at 9 a.m. PDT. The winner of that game will face Faulkner (51-11) at 3 p.m. on May 25.

No. 4 Northwood (Texas) (43-11) will battle No. 5 The Master's (Calif.) (43-15) at noon in the second game of the day, while No. 3 Embry-Riddle (Fla.) (48-13) and No. 6 York (Neb.) (44-10) square off at 3 p.m. in game three. The nightcap features No. 7 Lewis-Clark State (41-13) and No. 10 Rogers State (Okla.) (34-22) at 7:05 p.m. No. 2 Lee (Tenn.) has a bye on day one and will face the winner of Lewis-Clark State and Rogers State May 25 at 6:30 p.m.

Four teams return from last year's event: No. 2 Lee (Tenn.) (49-10), Embry-Riddle, Lewis-Clark State and Rogers State. Rogers State, who finished second at last year's event, became the first No. 4 seed to win an Opening Round championship since the format began in 2009 when the Hillcats defeated Lubbock Christian (Texas), 8-4, on May 11 in the Claremore Bracket.

Northwood, York, Sterling and Missouri Baptist are each making its program's first-ever appearance in the World Series. Missouri Baptist was the last team to punch its ticket with a 4-3, 19-inning victory over defending national champion Tennessee Wesleyan Monday afternoon. The contest is the longest game (innings) in NAIA baseball postseason history. Northwood, York and Sterling all claimed spots on May 11 with Opening Round bracket titles.

The Master's, winner of the Santa Clarita Bracket, is making its first appearance since 2000. The Mustangs went 2-2 that year and were eliminated by eventual runner-up Dallas Baptist, 6-4.

Lewis-Clark State boasts an NAIA-best 16 World Series titles with its last coming in 2008. The Warriors, who are the only team in the field with a championship, own an event record of 120-39 in 31 previous appearances.

NeuLion, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 18 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting the first 17 games of the 2013 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series (May 24 – 29). Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-World Series pass is available for $29.95. For more information, including how to test your computer and internet connection, click here. The championship final May 30 and the "if necessary" game May 31 will be streamed live on

For more information on the 2013 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, click here.

2013 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series Qualifiers

SchoolQualificationRecord^WS AppearancesWS RecordTitles
Embry-Riddle (Fla.)Dayton Beach Bracket Champion48-1312th (2012)17-220
Faulkner (Ala.)Montgomery Bracket Champion51-112nd (2011)0-20
Lee (Tenn.)Cleveland Bracket Champion49-108th (2012)17-140
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series Host41-1332nd (2012)120-3916
Missouri BaptistKingsport Bracket Champion35-121st0-00
Northwood (Texas)Hattiesburg Bracket Champion43-111st0-00
Rogers State (Okla.)Claremore Bracket Champion34-222nd (2012)4-20
Sterling (Kan.)Oklahoma City Bracket Champion48-121st0-00
The Master's (Calif.)Santa Clarita Bracket Champion43-152nd (2000)2-20
York (Neb.)Joliet Bracket Champion44-101st0-00

^ Includes 2013 Opening Round